Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Affordable HP from a 4.3 L Vortec?

Affordable HP from a 4.3 L Vortec?

My wife has one of those S-10s with the big offroad ZR2 package. It is a '98 and we rarely drive it (50k miles). Was thinking about spicing the performance up a bit for fun but I am a noob when it comes to performance.

It is a 1998 4.3 L Vortec and I think there were 2 different engine types but I'm not sure how to tell what we have.

Is there a supercharger or other route available for that series that could add 50+ horses for less than $2k or so?

I'd rather not play with nitrous and tear the engine up if possible.

Thanks for any ideas!

Re: Affordable HP from a 4.3 L Vortec?

Thats low miles!

Either a VIN X or W. The 8th digit in the VIN tells u. The W has 10 more HP and 5 more ft.lb Tq at 190/245 vs 180/240.
    Just a cam priofile difference.

SC is Wynjammer. Is easy to install, about 60HP, u have a few upgrades (look into the power pkg with the igher flowing poppet injectors) A good time to upgrade and update the notorious to fail poppets anyways and gives the motor the extra fuel it needs. Theres no other fuel upgrade option other than a Marine Intake swap (still needs bigger injectors) but alot of wiring and a few mods to get it to work. Or the Edelbrock 2114 manifold that will need to have a bunch of mods done to make it accept fuel injectors and a TB adapter. By far the Jammer and fuel umgrade they sell is the easiest bang for the buck. Around your budget too, reliable and hands down Al at Wynjammer has the best dervice. Also comes with a new tuned PCM to make it even easier.

U wont need an air intake kit, PCM Tune or underdrive pulleys with the Jammer kit. So no need to spend money there if ur going to do the Jammer.